Usability Management & Universal Design

For a better user experience

Good usability of products is a central component of a positive user experience and also ensures safety, accessibility and sustainable use. Good usability reduces costs and has a positive impact on brand and customer satisfaction. For example, it reduces calls to the hotline or operating errors. Usability management is therefore a natural part of our design process and we are happy to support you in optimizing your products and services.

Bild: Usability-Test mit Iconstorm
Human-Centered Design
The focus of usability is on people: Human-centered design is first and foremost about understanding users. In a process of observation, conceptualization, testing and iteration, we not only develop new ideas, but can also tailor products perfectly to people’s needs.

Human Factors Engineering

Using the methods of Human-Centered Design, we systematically support our customers in their usability management. This includes the selection of suitable partners, the planning of appropriate measures and methods (e.g. co-creation workshops, heuritic or formal evaluations of concepts) as well as the construction of demonstrators and prototypes. We accompany you through the entire process, from the preparation (including the definition of target groups and questions), to the implementation, to the concrete evaluation and definition of further steps. If required, we complement all measures with personal coaching and training.

In all our projects we observe and interview users, develop prototypes and test them in different iteration stages. The results flow directly into further development and also help to understand the real requirements and to design better products. We often work together with specialized usability service providers, because we believe that neutral and unbiased work is the be-all and end-all of quality assurance. In all of this, we pay attention to a systematic approach that helps to keep an eye on the “big picture” in the jungle of guidelines, standards and details.

Bild: Usability-Test mit Iconstorm
Ergonomics Standard
ISO 26800:11 outlines general principles and concepts of ergonomics that are applicable in the design of products and services to address human needs.

Accessibility & Universal Design

In addition to usability, accessibility is an essential aspect of ergonomics. The topic is becoming increasingly relevant from a company’s point of view, as legislators are demanding corresponding implementation in software and web applications: The European Accessibility Act (EAA) has already been in force since 2019, and its regulations must be implemented by 2025. The abilities of people who use a product can vary greatly. Users not only have different levels of competence in handling different technologies; physical impairments, for example, must also be taken into account.

Accordingly, it is important to consider the topic of accessibility based on defined guidelines in the design and development process. For various customers, we have implemented the topic of accessibility for their web applications based on the legal requirements and pay attention to the integration of appropriate criteria early in the design.

Example Projects

Bild: Co-Creation mit audifon
Audifon Usability Management
We support the manufacturer of smart hearing aids in design management in order to digitize the products in co-creation workshops from research, conceptualization, and ideation to the construction of testable prototypes. Good usability management and accessibility play an important role in medical technology products such as hearing aids, not least because many legal requirements have to be met. In this regard, we also support audifon in the documentation of measures relevant to approval in accordance with DIN-EN 62366-1:2017-07 and in maintaining the so-called usability engineering file.

Bild: EU Accessibility Roadmap
Accessibility with Deutsche Telekom
With Deutsche Telekom, we are optimizing the Group’s design system components in line with the Access for All certification standard that will be mandatory from 2025. With this, websites must be made available barrier-free in the future. To speed up the process, we have internally replicated the customer’s test track in order to preemptively rule out any deviations and will achieve the certification standard on schedule before the deadline.

 

Usability Management with Iconstorm

FEATURED PROJECTS

Audifon App
Modern user experience for hearing aids
go to project
ico-referenz-telekom-login
Telekom Login
Design for Telekom Login
go to project

Usability Management & Universal Design

Für bessere Nutzererlebnisse

Die gute Bedienbarkeit von Produkten ist zentraler Bestandteil einer positiven User Experience und sorgt dazu für Sicherheit, Barrierefreiheit und eine nachhaltige Nutzung. Eine gute Usability reduziert Kosten und wirkt sich positiv auf Marke und Kundenzufriedenheit aus. Zum Beispiel verringert sie Anrufe bei der Hotline oder Fehlbedienungen. Usability Management ist daher selbstverständlicher Teil unseres Designprozesses und wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Optimierung Ihrer Produkte und Services.

Bild: Usability-Test mit Iconstorm
Human-Centered Design
Beim Thema Usability steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt: Im Human-centered Design geht es in erste Linie darum, Nutzer*innen zu verstehen. In einem Prozess aus Beobachtung, Konzeption, Test und Iteration entwickeln wir nicht nur neue Ideen, sondern können Produkte auch perfekt auf die Bedürfnisse der Menschen zuschneiden.

Human Factors Engineering

Mit den Methoden des Human-Centered Design unterstützen wir unsere Kunden systematisch bei ihrem Usability Management. Das umfasst die Auswahl passender Partner, die Planung geeigneter Maßnahmen und Methoden (z. B. Co-Creation Workshops, heuritische oder formale Evaluierungen von Konzepten) sowie den Aufbau von Demonstratoren und Prototypen. Wir begleiten dabei durch den gesamten Prozess, von der Vorbereitung (inklusive der Festlegung von Zielgruppen und Fragestellungen), über die Durchführung bis hin zur konkreten Auswertung und Ableitung weiterer Schritte. Alle Maßnahmen ergänzen wir bei Bedarf mit persönlichen Coachings und Schulungen.

In allen unseren Projekten beobachten und befragen wir Anwender*innen, entwickeln Prototypen und testen diese in verschiedenen Iterationsstufen. Die Ergebnisse fließen unmittelbar in die weitere Entwicklung ein und helfen, die wirklichen Anforderungen zu verstehen und bessere Produkte zu gestalten. Oft arbeiten wir dabei mit spezialisierten Usability-Dienstleistern zusammen, denn eine neutrale und vorurteilsfreie Arbeit ist unserer Ansicht nach das A & O bei der Qualitätssicherung. Bei alldem achten wir auf eine systematsiche Herangehensweise, die dabei hilft, im Dschungel der Richtlinien, Normen und Details das „Big Picture“ im Blick zu behalten.

Bild: Usability-Test mit Iconstorm
Standard für Ergonomie
ISO 26800:11 stellt allgemeine Grundsätze, Prinzipien und Konzepte für Ergonomie dar, die in der Gestaltung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen anwendbar sind, um auf die Bedürfnisse von Menschen einzugehen.

Accessibility & Universal Design

Neben der Usability ist die Barrierefreiheit ein wesentlicher Aspekt der Ergonomie [ISO 26800]. Das Thema wird aus Unternehmenssicht zunehmend relevant, da der Gesetzgeber eine entsprechende Umsetzung in Software- und Webanwendungen fordert: Bereits seit 2019 ist der European Accessibility Act (EAA) in Kraft, dessen Vorschriften bis 2025 umgesetzt werden müssen.Die Fähigkeiten der Menschen, die ein Produkt nutzen, können stark variieren. Nutzer*innen haben nicht nur eine unterschiedliche Kompetenz im Umgang mit verschiedenen Technologien; auch müssen beispielsweise körperliche Beeinträchtigungen berücksichtigt werden.

Entsprechend wichtig ist es, das Thema Barrierefreiheit aufgrund definierter Guidelines im Gestaltungs- und Entwicklungsprozess zu beachten. Für verschiedene Kunden haben wir das Thema Accessibility für deren Webanwendungen auf Basis der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen umgesetzt und achten schon früh in der Gestaltung auf die Integration entsprechender Kriterien.

Aktuelle Projekte

Bild: Co-Creation mit audifon
Usability Management für audifon
Wir begleiten den Hersteller smarter Hörgeräte im Designmanagement, um in Co-Creation Workshops von Research, über Konzeption und Ideation bis zum Bau testfähiger Prototypen die Produkte zu digitalisieren. Bei medizintechnischen Produkten wie Hörgeräten spielen ein gutes Usability Management und Accessibility eine wichtige Rolle, nicht zuletzt da viele gesetzliche Vorgaben zu erfüllen sind. Diesbezüglich unterstützen wir audifon auch bei der zulassungsrelevanten Dokumentation der Maßnahmen nach DIN-EN 62366-1:2017-07 sowie beim Führen der sog. Gebrauchstauglichkeitsakte (Usability Engineering File).

Bild: EU Accessibility Roadmap
Accessibility für Deutsche Telekom
Mit der Deutschen Telekom optimieren wir die Designsystemkomponenten des Konzerns gemäß des ab 2025 vorgeschriebenen Standards einer Access for All Zertifizierung. Mit dieser müssen Websites in Zukunft barrierefrei zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Um das Vorgehen zu beschleunigen, haben wir die Teststrecke des Kunden intern nachgebaut, um schon präventiv etwaige Abweichungen auszuschließen, und werden planmäßig den Zertifizierungsstandard schon vor der Deadline erreichen.

 

Usability Management mit Iconstorm

UNSERE PROJEKTE

ico-referenz-telekom-login
Telekom Login
Gestaltung des Telekom Login: Prozesse und Anwendung
zum projekt
telekom mail
Plattformübergreifendes App-Design für iOs & Android
zum projekt