Strategic Design Sprint

Learning by doing: Increase your innovation capacity with a Strategic Design Sprint

A Strategic Design Sprint will help you reach new heights in terms of your innovation capacity. To keep up with the pace of technological advance, spotting the right opportunities and acting on them is a necessity. In turn, this requires processes that help harness hidden information and untapped skills. Everyone in your organization needs to feel engaged and empowered to contribute. Making innovation part of your business development strategy is a big endeavour that needs a suitable organizational structure to be successful. To this end, our Strategic Design Sprint will help you to build a culture in which information and knowledge are shared freely by everyone, and human-centered process patterns support high connectivity across all departments.

Image: Strategic Design Sprint according to the Free Climbing metaphor
Free Climbing – a metaphor for innovation development
Our Strategic Design Sprint has parallels to Free Climbing: developing meaningful innovations is hard work, failure is part of the process, and free sharing of knowledge and skills are essential for a successful journey from the base camp to the pitch.

Time-boxed design process

An optimized sprint process with two convincing results

A typical Strategic Design Sprint consists of four phases: Explore, Define, Develop, and Deliver. Explore stands for discovering and scouting the problem space, Define for focusing on new insights and questions. Develop means the rapid modelling of ideas and solutions, and Deliver their realization in practice. The methods and tools of our Strategic Design Framework support this process. At the end of your sprint, you will have two concrete deliverables: a convincing, tested prototype and a matching business model. This ensures that your sprint achieves concrete results suitable for further use, as well as informing and integrating other organizational units. The format is deliberately kept simple and your team can adapt it to its needs.

 

Image: The design process according to the British Design Council
The Design Process
Overview of the design process according to the scheme of the British Design Council.

Design competence

Building a knowledge-sharing culture

Trust, engagement, and loyalty are the currencies that enable a team to share knowledge. The key to building them is to empower and develop every one of its members. That is why our Strategic Design Sprint creates a space for testing, adapting, and utilizing proven design tools. Processes typical for design meet processes established in your organization. The coordinated encounter of working, thinking, and cultural patterns leads to new forms of collaboration, enabling your team to foster its individual members’ personal and professional development. During this process, the Strategic Design Sprint cultivates a positive energy that will drive you to promote its use throughout your organization. Thus, it is not only an efficient approach to meaningful innovation, but also to ensure everyone’s support for the result, including its market launch and beyond.

Double diamond
Building a Social Brain
A Strategic Design Sprint provides a framework that helps your team achieve peak performance. It sets free the collective intelligence of the group by aligning the motivation of the individuals. Moreover, the team members’ diverse backgrounds, personalities, skills, and ideas are beneficial for the project, since the advancement of their individual strengths is part of the process.

Prototyping
Immersive learning space
When learning is part of the process, mistakes are, too. Thus, the sprint will foster an open failure culture of shared knowledge and rapid revisions. The team will be able to adjust the ration between learning and solution-oriented work as it sees fit.

Business Model Canvas
Concrete results of a Strategic Design Sprint
Each sprint results in two deliverables: a business model canvas that documents the return on investment and value proposition, and a prototype that demonstrates the product’s user experience.

Sprint
Foster an agile mindset
The team members cultivate and use their high cognitive flexibility to balance freedom and responsibility for a consistently efficient work output.

A transformative process

Culture-forming variables included

Sprint formats that organize teamwork are not uncommon. What is special about strategic design sprints, however, is that culture-enhancing measures can be deliberately integrated into the work. For the personal and professional growth of the participants, principles like learning-by-doing and phases of reflection are anchored in the process and are methodically promoted. Strategic Design is therefore also a transformative approach that aims for a targeted development of design competence in your team. This process can be controlled by the team itself, resulting in an open and conscious engagement with the character of the format.

 

Strategic Design Sprint in practice

A process that can be customized according to your needs

The Strategic Design Sprint runs according to a schedule that can be adjusted at every stage of the process. Based on the free-climbing metaphor, the theme of the sprint is first introduced in a basecamp meeting (pitch) where the team (5 to 8 people) also settles organizational matters. Availabilities, main tasks, procedures and timings are defined and special tasks for individual members are assigned. The team then proceeds through the individual phases of the design process described above. Depending on the team’s level of maturity, the members can define reflection phases, present and introduce new methods, develop improvements to existing processes, as well as check and promote the team’s self-concept. One sprint cycle (rope) takes either two or three weeks. At its end, the result is made public and presented in a further pitch meeting.

Strategic Design Sprint: Learn more

Interested in further information?

FEATURED PROJECTS

ico-referenz-telekom-login
Telekom Login
Design for Telekom Login
go to project
Telekom Mail für Windows 10
Telekom Mail for Win10
Fast E-Mail Apps for Windows 10
go to project

Strategic Design Sprint

Learning by Doing: Innovationskompetenz erhöhen mit einem Strategic Design Sprint

Sie können einen Strategic Design Sprint nutzen, um in Sachen Innovationsfähigkeit neue Höhen zu erklimmen. Um mit der rapiden technischen Entwicklung Schritt zu halten, ist es heute notwendig, schnell günstige Gegelenheiten zu erkennen und dann agil zu handeln. Das funktioniert am besten mit Prozessen, die die verborgenen Informationen und ungenutzten Fähigkeiten Ihrer Organisation freisetzen und Ihre Mitarbeiter*innen motivieren und befähigen, sich daran zu beteiligen. Innovation zu einem strategischen Teil der Unternehmensentwicklung zu machen ist damit eine große Aufgabe und benötigt die passende Organisationsstruktur. Unser Strategic Design Sprint hilft Ihnen dabei, eine Kultur zu schaffen, in der Wissen und Information frei zirkulieren können und menschenzentrierte Arbeitsmuster eine starke Vernetzung aller Abteilungen ermöglichen.

Image: Strategic Design Sprint according to the Free Climbing metaphor
Free Climbing – Eine Metapher für Innovationsentwicklung
Unser Strategic Design Sprint hat Parallelen zum Free Climbing: Die Entwicklung sinnvoller Innovationen ist harte Arbeit, bei der „failing forward“ zum Prozess gehört. Ein freier Austausch von Wissen und Fähigkeiten sind dabei essenziell für die Reise vom Basiscamp bis zum Gipfel.

Time-boxed Design Process

Ein optimierter Sprintprozess und zwei überzeugende Ergebnisse

Ein Strategic Design Sprint hat vier Phasen: Explore, Define, Develop und Deliver. Explore steht für das Entdecken und Erforschen des Problemraums, Define für das Fokussieren auf neue Erkenntnisse und Fragestellungen, Develop für das schnelle Entwickeln von Ideen und Lösungen und Deliver für deren Realisierung. Das Entstehen eines überzeugenden Entwurfs wird dabei durch die Methoden und Tools unseres Strategic Design Frameworks unterstützt. Am Ende des Sprints stehen immer zwei konkrete Ergebnisse: Ein getesteter Prototyp sowie ein dazu passendes Businessmodell. Damit stellt jeder Sprint anschlussfähige Ergebnisse sicher, die geeignet sind andere Oragnisationseinheiten zu informieren und einzubinden. Das Format ist bewusst einfach gehalten und Ihr Team kann es je nach Ihren Bedürfnissen auch anpassen.

 

Image: The design process according to the British Design Council
Der Design Process
Überblick über den Designprozess nach dem Schema des britischen Design Council.

Designkompetenz

Schaffen einer Kultur des Wissensaustauschs

Vertrauen und Engagement sind wichtige Währungen, die einem Team einen freien Wissensaustausch erst möglich machen. Der Schlüssel dazu ist eine wertschätzende und ermutigende Zusammenarbeit, die auf jede Stärken jedes einzelnen Mitglieds setzt. Deshalb schafft unser Strategic Design Sprint einen sicheren Raum, in dem Design-Instrumente ausprobiert, angepasst und angewandt werden können. Dabei treffen für Design typische Muster auf die etablierten Arbeitsprozesse Ihrer Organisation und es entstehen neue Denk- und Arbeitsweisen, bei denen die persönlichen und professionellen Eigenschaften aller Teammitglieder gefragt sind und gleichzeitig gefördert werden. Der Strategic Design Sprint kultiviert dabei eine positive Kultur der Zusammenarbeit und wird Sie motivieren, seine Prozesse in der gesamten Organisation bekannt zu machen. Damit ist er nicht nur ein guter Ansatz für die effiziente Entwicklung sinnvoller Innovationen, sondern auch dafür, eine breite Akzeptanz für die Ergebnisse des Innovationsprozesses zu fördern.

Double diamond
Building a Social Brain
Ein Strategic Design Sprint bietet einen Rahmen, der Ihrem Team zu Höchstleistungen verhilft. Er setzt die kollektive Intelligenz der Gruppe frei, indem er die Motivationen der Einzelpersonen aufeinander abstimmt. Darüber hinaus ist die Vielfalt der Hintergründe, Persönlichkeiten, Fähigkeiten und Ideen der Teammitglieder von Vorteil für das Projekt, da die Förderung individueller Stärken Teil des Prozesses ist.

Prototyping
Immersive Learning Space
Wenn Lernen Teil des Prozesses ist, sind auch Fehler Teil des Prozesses. Der Strategic Design Sprint fördert daher eine offene Fehlerkultur, in der Wissen geteilt und schnelle Kurskorrekturen möglich werden. Das Team ist dabei in der Lage, das Verhältnis zwischen Lernen und lösungsorientiertem Arbeiten nach eigenem Ermessen anzupassen.

Business Model Canvas
Konkrete Resultate eines Strategic Design Sprints
Jeder Sprint erzeugt zwei Artefakte die den jeweiligen Stand demonstrieren. Ein Business Model Canvas das die Rentabilität und das Leistungsversprechen dokumentiert und eine Prototypen, der das Nutzungserlebnis erfahrbar macht.

Sprint
Fördern eines agilen Mindsets
Durch die Balance von Freiheit und Verantwortung kultiviert das Team ein agiles Mindset und eine entsprechend effiziente Arbeitsweise.

Ein transformativer Prozess

Kulturbildende Variablen inklusive

Sprintformate, die Teamarbeit organisieren, sind keine Seltenheit. Das Besondere am Strategic Design Sprints ist aber, das ganz bewusst kulturfördernde Maßnahmen in die Arbeit integriert werden können. Für die das persönliche und berufliche Wachstum der Teilnehmer sind Prinzipien des Learning by Doing und Reflektionsphasen im Prozess verankert und werden methodisch gefördert. Strategic Design ist also auch ein transformativer Ansatz zur gezielten Entwicklung von Design-Kompetenz. Der kann dabei vom Team selbst gesteuert werden, so dass eine offene und bewusste Auseinandersetzung mit dem Charakter des Formats entsteht.

 

Strategic Design Sprint: Der Ablauf

Anpassbarer Prozess, je nach Ihren Bedürfnissen

Der Strategic Design Sprint hat einen idealtypischen Ablauf, ist aber in jeder Stufe anpassbar. In Anlehnung an die Free-Climbing-Metapher werden zuerst im Basecamp Meeting das Thema des Sprints vorgestellt (Pitch) sowie dessen organisatorischer Rahmen durch das Team (5 bis 8 Personen) geklärt. Verfügbarkeiten, Schwerpunktaufgabe, Abläufe und Timings werden definiert sowie besondere Aufgaben für einzelne Mitglieder verteilt. Im Anschluss durchläuft das Team die einzelnen Phasen des oben beschriebenen Design-Prozesses. Dabei können die Mitglieder je nach Reifegrad des Teams Reflexionsphasen festlegen, neue Methoden vorstellen und einführen, Verbesserungen an vorhandenen Prozessen entwickeln sowie das Selbstverständnis des Teams prüfen und fördern. Ein Sprintzyklus (Rope) dauert wahlweise zwei oder drei Wochen. Dann wird in einem weiteren Pitch Meeting das Ergebnis öffentlich gemacht und vorgestellt.

Strategic Design Sprint: Mehr Informationen

Interesse an mehr Informationen?

UNSERE PROJEKTE

ico-referenz-telekom-login
Telekom Login
Gestaltung des Telekom Login: Prozesse und Anwendung
zum projekt
ico_referenz_fitness_equipment_04
Business Model Design
Strategisches Design für eine neue Fitness-Marke
zum projekt