Experience Design

Increased customer value and better user experience

For over 15 years the Iconstorm team has been designing high quality digital products. We increase the benefit and customer value of your applications, both on enterprise level (e.g. e-mail clients) and in highly specialized areas (like medical technology). We optimize them for all devices and platforms and also according to the requirements and abilities of the users.

Image: The product as an ecosystem
Today’s products are ecosystems
Content, partners, user experience – products today are created in networks that add up to market perfomance and value only through the interaction of their singular parts. The overall experience is more than “just” product and service quality. As designers, we consciously think of products as systems and platforms in terms of a consistent, customer-oriented overall solution and can specifically increase their connectivity to all stakeholders.

Product Experience

Using Human Centered Design to increase customer value

The digital transformation has changed the expectations placed on products in a lasting way. The focus is no longer only on technological possibilities, but more so on the skills and needs of the users, which must be integrated into the product development process. The analysis of usage data as well as methods of social and behavioural research make this possible today. Iconstorm has been a successful pioneer within this transformation since its founding: We design products that balance human, technological and economic requirements; most, but not all, are digital or firmly integrated with a digital platform. Accordingly, our design processes and thought patterns are heavily influenced by this new context. We have advanced the Human Centered Design approach and have developed a comprehensive methodological framework that makes this work, which begins with empathy and ends with the definition of clear and measurable usage requirements, possible in the first place.

Image: Design process Double Diamond
An adaptable basic process
People over Process is a basic principle of our work. However, granting a lot of freedom needs the reassurance that decisions will be made in a responsible way. At Iconstorm we therefore focus on customizable frameworks and processes that help us and our customers achieve efficient and predictable results.

Image: Process framework for industry design
Standardization of design in a given process
We love the agile approach to work in teams characterized by diversity. However, we also know areas where requirements are completely different, for example from practical experience in medical technology or product safety. These then require a design process that is strongly aligned with the quality standards and procedures of the respective company. Therefore, the integration of design as a strategic instrument always means that the prevailing culture in the customer’s organization must be taken into account. If, for example, ISO processes are assumed, we actively adapt our framework to them.

Interaction design and Usability

Usage requirements evaluation and integration into product development

The successful management of user requirements as well as their systematic analysis and validation through testing form the backbone of optimal product development. Being able to discover what solutions customers are looking for, what action goals they pursue and what skills they possess is one of the key competencies for a company today. In our experience, a good mix is the be-all and end-all here: by observing real user behavior, empathetically putting oneself in the customer’s context and systematically evaluating usage data, it is possible to generate robust requirements. Since efficient requirements management is of central importance for our work, we have set up a process that allows us to incorporate the users’ interaction with the product into the development process right from the start. Past results of this approach have shown that the usability of a product can be significantly increased in this way.

Image: Co-Creation
Co-Creation: Making customers a partner in the design process
Customers do not always know immediately what they need. But with a little help they are able to find it out. We have developed methods and processes that make working together with the end user a valuable tool for optimizing products or services.

Image: Prototyping
Convincing prototypes support transparent decisions
At Iconstorm, we work according to the principle of show, don’t tell. Developing and testing prototypes is an important part of our daily work, regardless of the current project phase. A strategic and meaningful use of prototypes is an efficient way to assist decision processes even up to the final product.

Image: User feedback as a part of the design process
Testing, testing, testing – user feedback is the basis of advancement
Not a lot of things in design are without an alternative. However, user feedback is one of these things. As a design agency we certainly do not test our work ourselves. However, we do plan and support the conduction of user tests together with our clients. Our experience from hundreds of tests enables us to help integrate user feedback into the development process effectively.

Image: Iconstorm's Validation Poker as a card game
Choosing the right ideas
In our projects, there is often an abundance of ideas present. However, modern and multidisciplinary teams need a basis for choosing the right ones in a responsible way. Therefore, we put great importance on transparency and documentation within the strategic design process. The instruments we developed in service of this help guide working hypotheses from the early project phases towards an assessable and measurable requirement profile.

Optimize your product-service-systems

Experience Design with Iconstorm

FEATURED PROJECTS

ico-referenz-telekom-login
Telekom Login
Design for Telekom Login
go to project
telekom mail
cross platform application design – iOs & Android
go to project

Experience Design

Erhöhter Kundenwert und besseres Nutzererlebnis

Seit über 15 Jahren gestaltet das Iconstorm Team hochwertige digitale Produkte. Wir steigern den Nutzen und Kundenwert Ihrer Anwendungen, sowohl auf Enterprise Level (z. B. E-Mail Clients) als auch in hochspezialisierten Bereichen (wie der Medizintechnik). Dabei optimieren wir sie übergreifend für alle Endgeräte, Plattformen und auch die Anforderungen und Fähigkeiten der Nutzer*innen.

Bild: Das Produkt als Ökosystem
Das Produkt ist heute ein Ökosystem
Inhalte, Partner, Nutzererlebnis – Produkte entstehen heute in Netzwerken, die erst durch ihr Zusammenwirken die Marktleistung und Wertschöpfung ausmachen. Dabei ist das Gesamterlebnis mehr als „nur“ Produkt- und Service-Qualität. Im Sinne einer durchgängigen, kundenorientierten Gesamtlösung denken wir als Designer Produkte bewusst in Systemen und Plattformen und können ihre Anschlussfähigkeit zu allen Stakeholdern gezielt erhöhen.

Product Experience

Durch Human Centered Design den Kundenwert steigern

Die digitale Transformation hat die Anforderungen an Produkte nachhaltig verändert. Im Vordergrund stehen nicht mehr nur technologische Möglichkeiten, sondern die Fähigkeiten und Bedürfnisse der Nutzer*innen, die in den Produktentwicklungsprozess eingebunden werden müssen. Die Analyse von Nutzungsdaten sowie Methoden der Sozial- und Verhaltensforschung machen das heute möglich. Iconstorm ist schon seit der Gründung ein erfolgreicher Pionier dieser Transformation: Wir gestalten Produkte, die menschliche, technologische und ökonomische Anforderungen miteinander in Einklang bringen; die meisten, aber nicht alle, sind digital oder fest in eine digitale Plattform integriert. Entsprechend sind auch unsere Designprozesse und Denkmuster von diesem neuen Kontext geprägt. Wir haben den Ansatz des Human Centered Design konstruktiv weiterentwickelt und verfügen über ein umfassendes methodisches Framework, dass diese Arbeit, die mit Empathie beginnt und in der Definition von eindeutigen und messbaren Nutzungsanforderungen endet, erst möglich macht.

Bild: Designprozess Double diamond
Ein individualisierbarer Basisprozess
People over Process ist eine wichtiges Prinzip unserer Arbeit. Das heißt aber auch: Wer den Mensch über den Prozess erhebt und ihm seine Entscheidungsfreiheit zugesteht, muss dafür sorgen, dass aus dieser Freiheit Verantwortung entstehen kann. Daher setzen wir bei Iconstorm auf individualisierbare Frameworks und Prozesse, die uns und unseren Kunden dabei helfen, möglichst effizente und planbare Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Bild: Prozessframework Industriedesign
Normierung von Design im Prozess
Wir lieben die agile Arbeitsweise in von Diversität geprägten Teams. Wir kennen jedoch beispielsweise aus der Praxis in der Medizintechnik oder Produktsicherheit auch Bereiche, in denen ganz andere Anforderungen herrschen. Diese verlangen dann einen Designprozess, der sich stark an Qualitätsnormen und Abläufen des jeweiligen Unternehmens orientiert. Deshalb bedeutet die Integration von Design als strategischem Instrument immer auch, dass die vorherrschende Kultur in der Organisation des Kunden berücksichtigt werden muss. Werden etwa ISO-Prozesse vorausgesetzt, passen wir unser Framework aktiv daran an.

Interaktionsdesign und Usability

Nutzungsanforderungen evaluieren und in die Produktentwicklung integrieren

Das erfolgreiche Management von Nutzeranforderungen sowie deren systematische Analyse und Validierung durch Tests bilden das Rückgrat einer optimalen Produktentwicklung. Herausfinden zu können, welche Lösungen Kunden suchen, welche Handlungsziele sie setzen und über welche Fähigkeiten sie verfügen, gehört heute zu den Schlüsselkompetenzen für ein Unternehmen. Unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass hier eine gute Mischung das A&O ist: Durch die Beobachtung realen Nutzerverhaltens, das empathische Hineinversetzen in den Kontext des Kunden sowie die systematische Auswertung von Nutzungsdaten lassen sich belastbare Anforderungen generieren. Da für unsere Arbeit ein ein effizientes Anforderungsmanagement von zentraler Bedeutung ist, haben wir einen Prozess aufgesetzt, der die Interaktion der Nutzer*innen mit dem Produkt schon zu Beginn in den Entwicklungsprozess einfließen lässt. Unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass sich so die Usability eines Produktes deutlich erhöhen lässt.

Bild: Partizipatives Design
Partizipatives Design: Kunden als Partner im Designprozess
Kunden wissen nicht immer sofort, was sie brauchen. Aber mit etwas Unterstützung finden sie es selbstständig heraus. Wir nennen die gemeinsame Arbeit mit dem Endkunden partizipatives Design und haben Methoden und Prozesse entwickelt, die diese Zusammenarbeit wertvoll für die Weiterentwicklung von Produkten machen.

Bild: Prototyping
Überzeugende Prototypen für einen transparenten Entscheidungsprozess
Show, don’t tell. Wir arbeiten bei Iconstorm streng nach dieser Devise. Das Entwickeln und Testen von Prototypen, egal in welcher Projektphase, gehört zu unserer täglichen Arbeit. Prototypen müssen strategisch sinnvoll eingesetzt werden, damit sie den Entscheidungsprozess bis zum finalen Produkt effizient unterstützen können.

Bild: Nutzerfeedback als Teil des Designprozesses
Testen, Testen, testen – ohne Nutzerfeedback gibt es keine Entwicklung
Es gibt wenige Dinge, die im Design alternativlos sind; Nutzerfeedback gehört aber dazu. Als Designagentur testen wir unsere Arbeit natürlich nicht selbst, aber wir übernehmen die Planung und unterstützen bei der operativen Durchführung von Nutzertests. Mit unserer Erfahrung aus hunderten von Tests können wir dabei helfen, das Nutzerfeedback optimal in den Entwicklungsprozess zu integrieren.

Bild: Iconstorms Validation Poker als Kartenspiel
Die richtigen Ideen auswählen
An Ideen herrscht selten ein Mangel. Moderne, multidisziplinäre Entwicklungsteams benötigen aber auch eine Grundlage, um verantwortungsvoll die richtige auszuwählen. Im strategischen Designprozess legen wir deshalb größten Wert auf die Nachvollziehbarkeit und Dokumentation von Entscheidungen. Die von uns entwickelten Instrumente machen dafür aus den Arbeitshypothesen in der Frühphase ein bewert- und messbare Anforderungsprofil.

Optimieren Sie Ihre Produkt-Service-Systeme

Experience Design mit Iconstorm

UNSERE PROJEKTE

ico-referenz-telekom-login
Telekom Login
Gestaltung des Telekom Login: Prozesse und Anwendung
zum projekt
ico_referenz_fitness_equipment_04
Business Model Design
Strategisches Design für eine neue Fitness-Marke
zum projekt