A fitness tracker with a wide range of functions

Personal trainer on your wrist

At a glance

For a German-Chinese customer we built a prototype for a fitness tracker. In the context of his system environment, it was required to exceed the usual features of such products. The job was to build a prototype that would work in front of the customer. In close cooperation with the customer, we developed a prototype which was later presented at the FIBO trade fair in Cologne.

ico_referenz_finess_tracker_01

The Client

The customer wanted to know if it would be possible to integrate a fitness tracker into their overall system. It was intended to give users access to fitness studios and provide them with active feedback on their training success. The task was to develop a usable prototype that works in front of the customer.

 

The Challenge

The development of the prototype was characterized by the continuous interplay between the technical possibilities and the customer’s requirements. Limited hardware properties such as battery life, display size, brightness or color spectrum required a lot of communication. The biggest challenges were therefore a constant adaptation of the requirements and our proposed use cases, as well as the development of the user interface.

ico_referenz_finess_tracker_03

The Outcome

The finished prototype was able to provide users with access to fitness studios via an integrated NFC chip; in addition, they were able to activate and operate the studios’ equipment via the tracker. The tracker went beyond the usual market functions in that it not only collected training data, but also actively transmitted information about training success and suggestions for its adaptation during the training. The prototype was presented at the FIBO trade fair in Cologne.

 


You are facing strategic design challenges or have immediate projects that require direct action? We cover all stages from corporate innovation to business design and User Experience. We are happy to help organizations large and small achieve their full potential in digital business strategy and product design.

see our design philosophy   learn about our strategic design framework

Der Personal-Trainer am Handgelenk

Datenanalyse und Training für Draußen

Auf einen Blick

Für einen deutsch-chinesischen Kunden haben wir einen Prototypen für einen Fitness-Tracker gebaut. Dieser sollte im Kontext seiner System-Umgebung über die marktüblichen Funktionen hinausgehen und vor Kunde funktionieren. In enger Abstimmung mit dem Kunden erarbeiteten wir einen Prototypen, der auf der FIBO-Messe in Köln vorgestellt wurde.

 

ico_referenz_finess_tracker_01

Der Kunde

Der Kunde wollte wissen, ob es möglich ist, einen Fitness-Tracker in sein übergeordnetes System einzubinden. Er sollte Nutzern Zugang zu Fitnessstudios verschaffen können und aktiv Feedback zum Trainingserfolg geben. Der Auftrag war, einen nutzbaren Prototypen zu entwickeln, der vor Kunde funktioniert.

 

Die Herausforderung

Die Entwicklung des Prototypen stand im ständigen Spannungsfeld zwischen technischen Möglichkeiten und Kundenanforderungen. Limitierende Eigenschaften der Hardware, wie Batterielaufzeit, Display-Größe, Helligkeit oder Farbspektrum erforderten viel Kommunikation mit dem Kunden. Die größten Herausforderungen waren daher eine ständige Anpassung der Anforderungen und unserer vorgeschlagenen Use-Cases sowie die Arbeit am User Interface.

ico_referenz_finess_tracker_03

Das Ergebnis

Der fertige Prototyp war dazu in der Lage, Nutzern über einen integrierten NFC-Chip Zugang zu Fitnessstudios zu verschaffen; zudem konnten sie über den Tracker dort Geräte freischalten und bedienen. Der Tracker ging insofern über die marktüblichen Funktionen hinaus, dass er nicht nur Traningsdaten sammelte, sondern schon während dem Training aktiv Informationen über Trainingserfolg sowie Vorschläge zu dessen Anpassung übermittelte. Der Prototyp wurde auf der FIBO-Messe in Köln vorgestellt.

 


Sie stehen vor strategischen Design-Herausforderungen oder haben unmittelbare Projekte, die direktes Handeln erfordern? Wir decken alle Stufen von der Unternehmensinnovation über Business Design bis hin zu User Experience ab. Wir freuen uns, Unternehmen jeder Größe dabei zu unterstützen, ihr volles Potenzial in der digitalen Geschäftsstrategie und Produktgestaltung auszuschöpfen.

Unsere Design-Philosophie   Unser strategisches Design-Framework

Mitmachen? Gerne bewerben!